‘Collected Works’ by Andrey Platonov

Published by Ardis Publishers in 1978.


Platonov produced a great body of work, including fiction, plays poetry, essays, and scenarios. The chasm between the ideals of the “new men” and the reality of provincial life is one of Platonov’s main themes. The Party boss who is blind to suffering and real problems is one of his favorite villains. His favorite heroes are working men – laborers, mechanics, craftsmen – who have intimate relations with both nature and machines. Usually because of supervisors who misuse both machines and men, the heroes come to unhappy ends.

Andrey Platonovich Platonov (1899–1951) was the son of a railway worker. The eldest of eleven children, he began work at the age of thirteen, eventually becoming an engine driver’s assistant. He began publishing poems and articles in 1918, while studying engineering. Throughout much of the Twenties Platonov worked as a land reclamation expert, draining swamps, digging wells, and also building three small power stations. Between 1927 and 1932 he wrote his most politically controversial works, some of them first published in the Soviet Union only in the late 1980s. Other stories were published but subjected to vicious criticism. Stalin is reputed to have written “scum” in the margin of the story For Future Use, and to have said to Alexander Fadeyev (later Secretary of the Writers’ Union), “Give him a good belting—for future use!” During the Thirties Platonov made several public confessions of error, but went on writing stories only marginally more acceptable to the authorities. His son was sent to the Gulag in 1938, aged fifteen; he was released three years later, only to die of the tuberculosis he had contracted there. From September 1942, after being recommended to the chief editor of Red Star by his friend Vasily Grossman, Platonov worked as a war correspondent and managed to publish several volumes of stories; after the war, however, he was again almost unable to publish. He died in 1951, of tuberculosis caught from his son. Happy Moscow, one of his finest short novels, was first published in 1991; a complete text of Soul was first published only in 1999; letters, notebook entries, and unfinished stories continue to appear.

Table of Contents

  • Preface to The Foundation Pit (Joseph Brodsky)
  • The Foundation Pit (Thomas P. Whitney)
  • The Barrel Organ. A Play in Three Acts (Cari R. Proffer)
  • The Epifan Locks (Marion Jordan)
  • The Potudan River (Alexey A. Kiselev)
  • Homecoming (Alexey A. Kiselev)
  • Light of Life (Alexey A. Kiselev)
  • The Cow (Alexey A. Kiselev)
  • The Takyr (Marion Jordan)
  • The Third Son (Alexey A. Kiselev)
  • Fro (Alexey A. Kiselev)
  • The City of Gradov (Friederike Snyder)
  • Makar the Doubtful (Alexey A. Kiselev)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: