‘Yugoslavia: Death of a Nation’ by Laura Silber and Allan Little | Book & BBC Documentary

First published by Penguin in 1995, includes two different editions.
Film download added and transfer link updated on 25. June 2021.

(2x .pdf & 6x .mkv)

The Death of Yugoslavia (Serbian, Montenegrin, Bosnian, Croatian and Slovenian: Smrt Jugoslavije, Macedonian: Смртта на Југославија, Smrtta na Jugoslavija), later retitled into Yugoslavia: Death of a Nation in an updated and revised edition, is a six part BBC documentary series first broadcast in 1995, and also the name of a book written by Allan Little and Laura Silber that accompanies the series.

The book and film cover the collapse of the former Yugoslavia from three decades ago. Notable in its combination of never-before-seen archive footage interspersed with interviews of most of the main players in the conflict, including Slobodan Milošević, the leader of Serb nationalism, then President of Serbia, through the secession of Slovenia and Croatia, to the war in Bosnia. The story does not extend as far as the Kosovo crisis or the secession of Montenegro.

The videos are narrated and subtitled in English, while the interviews themselves are in the originatory language of the speakers. To open the .mkv video files on Linux, Windows, Mac and Android the use of free open-source software VLC is recommended, and should also be readable by all relatively newer playback devices including televisions.

Awarded Best Factual Series at 1996 British Academy of Film and Television Arts Awards.

Table of Contents

Part 1: Enter Nationalism

After the death of Josip Broz Tito, rising nationalism gets Yugoslavia in its grips. This is exacerbated after Slobodan Milošević takes power in Serbia and turns against the Kosovar Albanians.

Part 2: The Road to War

In April 1990, Croatia holds its first free parliamentary election. Ethnic Serbs in Croatia feel threatened by the nationalist tone of Croatia’s newly elected President Franjo Tuđman and they begin a Log Revolution in August 1990. On 19 May 1991, Croatia holds an independence referendum, which is approved by a wide majority. The Battle of Vukovar of August 1991 is the first major battle in the Croatian War of Independence.

Part 3: Wars of Independence

Slovenia and Croatia soon declare their independence and ask for international recognition. But Belgrade (the capital of both Serbia and Yugoslavia) does not see it this way because it soon means the collapse of Yugoslavia.

Part 4: The Gates of Hell

After the war between Serbia and Croatia ends with the signing of an agreement, Serbia involves itself in Bosnia where a lot of things are at stake. Here begins the longest and the most tragic part of the conflict.

Part 5: A Safe Area

As the situation in Bosnia worsens, there is further conflict between the Serb and Bosnian forces. There is increasing UN involvement and NATO begin to step in. The Bosnians and Croats reach an agreement mediated by the UN whilst another UN agreement falls through, despite being signed by all parties. The suffering and persecution of Bosnian Muslims by Serb forces is featured.

Part 6: Pax Americana

Croatia launches operation Operation Storm and recaptures most of territory of self-proclaimed Republic of Serbian Krajina which leads to mass exodus of Serbian population from Croatia. Bosnian Serb forces commit Srebrenica and Markale massacres. In response, NATO launches Operation Deliberate Force and bombs positions of Bosnian Serb forces, which forces Bosnian Serbs to return to negotiations. US brokeres Dayton Agreement which effectively ends the Bosnian war.

See also: ‘The Balkans in Flames’ by Klaus Kastenholz in Veronika Mendler

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: